Fig Tree Wooden Plant Stand

After we got rid of our Christmas tree and created our simple and clean house, we had some space left for a new addition.  Fiddle leaf fig trees are very popular and when I went to the farmers market a few weeks ago, I saw that a man was selling them. I knew once Christmas was over, this would be the next addition to our house. So J and I picked one out on Saturday.

IMG_2743

One of my resolutions for 2015 is to make more projects. It’s hard because I don’t have a good space to work on them here and often school gets overwhelming and time-consuming. But since I was still on Christmas vacation, I knew I had to take advantage of my free time to make a plant stand.

I saw this stand on Pinterest a while back and knew it was what I wanted. It works well for me because the tree is still in its original plastic pot. I read that figs don’t take well to transplanting and this way I can also prevent water from leaking out onto the carpet.

We used a 14 inch pot that I painted white. To construct the wooden cube, we used a 1″x1″ molding strip cut into 12- 11.5 inch pieces. We assembled them into 2 squares and then used the remaining 4 pieces as the verticals. The only difficulty was we couldn’t cut very straight edges with our hand saw. And be careful how you place the screws because it may make assembly more difficult for you later on.
IMG_2744 IMG_2746 IMG_2750

Toothpaste is great for all sorts of building projects! After I drilled a hole through one piece, I used the toothpaste to mark the exact spot to drill through on the next.IMG_2758 IMG_2786

Leave a Reply

