Weekend Warriors- Fixing up the Cabin

As a Christmas gift to my Grandma and Grandpa, my parents wanted to build a bench and finish the walls of the dining room in my Grandparents’ cabin.  My uncle recently put new windows in and re-framed the wall.  It needed some finishing up and so my family offered to do it in their time off between Christmas and New Years.

My Dad built the frame of the window seat at home to save time.  Our plan was to insulate the walls, put up wainscoting, paint, and install the window seat.  It was a lot of work! Things didn’t always go as we had planned, but in the end it turned out beautiful.  We all had a lot of fun (most of the time…) and I’m glad I got to spend my birthday fixing up my favorite place.

Here are some pictures of the process:

IMG_2686IMG_2687IMG_2705
Even M helped- painting outside in the cold!IMG_2713IMG_2709

We also learned a lot about the cabin.  Once one wall was taken down, we could see logs hiding behind another.  So with a crowbar in hand, we ripped down the walls and exposed the old logs.  They are in great condition and I’m pretty sure they are redwood- something you wouldn’t see in a house built today.  
IMG_2694IMG_2695The old layers of wallpaper and paint were really cool. The tan and purple floral is my favorite.
IMG_2591Once one wall was down, I had to pull of the rest! I can’t wait to go back and finish pulling off the walls- I love the logs!IMG_2706 This doorway used to be a window, my dad has some log patching to do…IMG_2683The old log cabin walls with the fresh white wainscoting look really nice now.  The room is so bright and clean feeling.
IMG_2715 And it shows off the beautiful view through all the windows.IMG_2679We finally got to sit down and enjoy all our hard work- only to have to leave 30 minutes later!
IMG_2716

3 thoughts on “Weekend Warriors- Fixing up the Cabin

Leave a Reply

