The End of a Season

On Sunday we celebrate Winter Solstice, the shortest day of the year 😦 but also the beginning of our stretch towards Summer!! And while we may have a whole season of winter ahead of us, longer days are in sight.

I decided to collect the last of my garden this week- as a celebration of the end of fall. I planted all of it back on September 19th. So after 91 days, this is what I got:

IMG_2553.JPG

And a look at how it progressed:

Do you remember Day 1?! Crazy!

IMG_1965

And then…

DAY 49:

IMG_2286IMG_2506

DAY 56:
IMG_2503 IMG_2501 Carrots finally sprouted!IMG_2496Some lettuce going home for salads.Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

DAY 63:

IMG_2376

DAY 70:

IMG_2477 And our Thanksgiving salad- freshly picked!IMG_5064

DAY 77: The broccoli leaves had really gotten big by this point, but still nothing to eat.

IMG_2471And the cabbage had turned the prettiest colors…IMG_2464 But not everything was going smoothly! An aphid invasion on 3 of my 4 cabbages 😦 IMG_2462
DAY 91: We’ve had a few big storms the last few weeks so everything is really sprouting and looks very green!
IMG_2563.JPG IMG_2560.JPG IMG_2558.JPG IMG_2555.JPG

It’s sad for me to pick all my plants. While I am happy I get to enjoy them now, I have spent many lunch breaks walking to this garden, watering it, picking baby caterpillars off the leaves… It’s crazy, though, for me to look back at that first day when all the little plants went in the ground! I can’t believe how much everything grew! Now off to eat my salads and plan my winter garden! Any suggestions of what to plant next?

Leave a Reply

