Getting Ready for Christmas

It was hard to do, but I waited until after Thanksgiving to start my Christmas decorating! I think it is important to give Thanksgiving its moment- it’s a special holiday that focuses on family and gratitude while others can sometimes get lost in the materialism. Anyways, I really like decorating for Christmas, I think it’s just a fun time of year to celebrate and be happy! Plus it’s a good excuse to change up the look of your house, especially when we are spending more and more time indoors with Winter’s arrival.

I decided I wanted to make an Advent calendar for J so that he could have smaller presents spread out over 12 days. So Saturday night he went to work and I got busy transforming our main room!

We don’t really have a focal point in our living room- except maybe the TV- so I turned our bookshelf into a fireplace, covering the front with cardboard that I stamped to look like bricks. I’d seen this jute twine sheet stuff at ACE earlier and I knew I wanted to decorate with it somehow and this seemed like a good opportunity. I just draped it over the top of our fireplace and then used it as a tree skirt below.

IMG_2427

I’d been collecting random boxes from food and stuff this past week so I gave them a spray of white paint and added cardboard roofs to transform them into houses.
IMG_2425

IMG_2422Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Some of my gifts are too big to fit into the houses so I wrote up clues to find them and put the clue in the jars. 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

And the banner was really easy to make- I just lightly spray-painted an old Trader Joe’s bag, cut out circles, and wrote “Merry Christmas” on them.  Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset IMG_2418I collected the greenery on my last day in Cambria.  I like how this tree had a blueish tint to it, and it was just growing wild by the side of the road.  I added driftwood and pinecones to the “inside” of our fireplace.
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

And I had to add a bird to this display since J just loved the last bird so much!Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Our tree! J and I went to ACE on Sunday and picked out this mini Noble Fir. It fits perfect in this spot.

Now that I have something nice to look at its back to statistics and the world of Excel spreadsheets.  But lucky J to have 12 days of Christmas presents!

3 thoughts on “Getting Ready for Christmas

  1. Like everything you did for Christmas-so clever . Kaitlin, I love reading your post-I feel like I am part of your life-I know how you are living. I love you. Merry Christmas to you and J (hope someday I will have the opportunity to meet him) Love, Nana

    Like

Leave a Reply

