DIY Winter Candle

IMG_2279 This past weekend I finally had some free time from school and got to make something fun and crafty again!! I bought the supplies for this a while ago after seeing a similar candle on the Terrain website.  I already had the mug (from one of my past camping trips-hah) and so I thought I would give it a try.  And I know its not winter yet- it was 77 degrees here while I was making this candle!IMG_2258Here’s what you need:

  • Mug or jar or something that’s going to hold your candle.  (I got my enamel camping mug from REI but you could make your candle in anything really)
  • Candle wax (my mug used about 3/4 lb)
  • Candle scent (I chose cinnamon)
  • Candle wick
  • A double broiler

All of these supplies can easily be found at your local craft store.  A double broiler, if you haven’t made one before, is like a pot within a pot.  You need it because you don’t want to put the wax straight on the flame or it will heat too quickly.  So instead you boil water and then put the wax in a vessel in the boiling water.  I used a pie tin because I wanted to be able to throw it away and not have to worry about scraping wax off it; otherwise you could use a heat-safe glass bowl. IMG_2253 First, cut the wax into small chunks and estimate how much you will need.  Then cut some extra because you will probably need more than you think. IMG_2220 Heat the water to a boil in your pot.  Then put the wax in the pie tin and set the tin on the boiling water.  Be sure the water and wax don’t mix.  Heat until the wax is fully melted, then add in your scent according to its directions. IMG_2213 Place the wick in the mug and wrap it around a pencil to keep it centered.  Once the wax is ready, pour it into the mug.  (Note: the mug needs to be heated before you put the wax in.  If you try to do it with a room temperature mug, you’ll get this big tunnel in the center due to the temperature differences.)IMG_2276 Then put it in a spot where it won’t be disturbed and wait 30-45 minutes for the wax to cool and harden.  Then you can cut the wick! I’ve really liked having my fall season candles in our house and I think this cinnamon one will be a nice addition.  The cool thing about making your own candles is you can have any smell you want and in any object you want- you could even make it in a hole in the sand at the beach!

2 thoughts on “DIY Winter Candle

Leave a Reply

