Persimmon Cookies…and eating locally

IMG_2181Let me start this post by saying that these are referred to as the “Ugly Cookies” in my house.  But they taste good!

This recipe comes from my great-grandma and they are perfect for fall.  Persimmons have a pumpkin-y flavor and are in season now!

I recently attended a talk at school about Sustainable Food Systems.  It covered a complete mix of topics from the benefits of local foods, to the carbon footprint of your food, and the changing health of Americans.  I think that one of the ways that we can all make a difference in the environment on a small-scale is in in our food choices.  If we could support a local farmer who grew our foods in a sustainable way, we could each make a difference.  (And by sustainable, I mean eating in a way today that allows our future children (and their children) to be able to make the same choices we can and eat as well (or better) than we do.)  For myself, I have a great weekly farmer’s market that I have made a routine of going to.  I do not get all my groceries there but I always get my bread and a couple of fruits or vegetables that I know I will eat.  Lately this has been tomatoes and apples.  I realize that I am very lucky to live so close to a great farmers market, but if we all made one more sustainable choice, we could improve our world just a bit more.

And now to the cookies!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Ingredients:

-1 cup sugar

-1/2 cup shortening

-1 cup Persimmon, peeled and mashed (about 3 persimmons)

-1 egg

-3 tsp. molasses

-1 tsp. baking soda

-1 1/2 to 2 cups flour

-1/2 tsp cinnamon

-1/2 tsp. nutmeg

-1/2 tsp. salt

-1 cup chopped nuts (optional)

First, mix the shortening, sugar, and persimmon together.  Then add in the egg and molasses.IMG_2175

Then stir in the dry ingredients.

IMG_2169

Drop onto a greased cookie sheet or use parchment paper for the easiest clean-up ever!

IMG_2168

Bake for 10-15 minutes at 350.

IMG_2166

Enjoy your local dessert!

P.S. I recently read a book called “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle” by Barbara Kingsolver.  She’s a NY Times Best-Selling author, but she decided to move her family to a farm for a year and only eat what they could produce or find in a 100-mile radius.  It was a great read and I’d highly recommend it to anyone who’s interested in where their food comes from.
2 thoughts on “Persimmon Cookies…and eating locally

Leave a Reply

